Members and Friends of the International Committee for Robot Arms Control at the United Nations Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons Informal Expert Meeting (May 2014)

Members and Friends of the International Committee for Robot Arms Control at the United Nations Informal Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons Expert Meeting (May 2014)


The International Committee for Robot Arms Control – or ICRAC (spelled “aikræk”) for short – is an international not-for-profit association committed to the peaceful use of robotics in the service of humanity and the regulation of robot weapons.

ICRAC is a Non Governmental Organisation (NGO). We are an international committee of experts in robotics technology, robot ethics, international relations, international security, arms control, international humanitarian law, human rights law, and public campaigns, concerned about the pressing dangers that military robots pose to peace and international security and to civilians in war.

ICRAC was founded, and its founding Mission Statement adopted, in September 2009.  ICRAC’s first international Expert Workshop was held in Berlin in October 2010, at which the Berlin Statement was adopted by a majority vote of the participants.

ICRAC members research, publish, and engage the public and the international community on this pressing issue, and work to foster global efforts toward effective limitation of military robotics.

The members of ICRAC are listed below, together with the year in which they joined the Committee.  Names link to members’ individual websites.


David Akerson, J.D. (2013)
University of Denver, USA

Daniele Amoroso, PhD (2017)
University of Cagliari, Italy

Jürgen Altmann, PhD (co-founder; 2009), Vice-Chair
Technische Universität Dortmund, Germany

Peter M. Asaro, PhD (co-founder; 2009), Vice-Chair
The New School University, USA

Mark Bishop, PhD (2012)
University of London, UK

Matthew Bolton, PhD (2012), Membership Secretary
Pace University, USA

Thompson Chengeta, PhD, (LL.M, LL.D, LL.B) (2016)
University of Pretoria, South Africa

Denise Garcia, PhD (2013), Vice-Chair
Northeastern University, USA

Stephen Graham, PhD (2013)
Newcastle University, UK

Peter Kahn, PhD (2012)
University of Washington, USA

Ian Kerr, PhD (2013)
University of Ottawa, Canada

Thomas McDonnell, J.D. (2013)
Pace University, USA

Richard Moyes (2011)
Article 36 (NGO), UK

Yeshua Moser-Puangsuwan (2013)
Mines Action Canada

Thomas Nash (2011)
Article 36, UK

Illah Nourbakhsh, PhD (2012)
Carnegie Mellon University, USA

Samantha Rennie, (2010)
Campaigner, UK

Frank Sauer, PhD (2010), IT Secretary
Bundeswehr University Munich, Germany

Elke Schwarz, PhD (2017)
University of Leicester, UK

Noel Sharkey, PhD DSc FRSA FRIN FBCS CITP FIET (co-founder; 2009), Chair
University of Sheffield, UK

Robert Sparrow, PhD (co-founder; 2009)
Monash University, Australia

Lucy Suchman, PhD (2010)
Lancaster University, UK

Guglielmo Tamburrini, PhD (2012)
Universita’ di Napoli “Federico II”,  Italy

Matthew Warren, PhD (2013)
Deakin University, Australia

Jutta Weber, PhD (2013)
University of Paderborn, Germany

Steve Wright, PhD (2010)
Leeds Beckett University, UK

Wim Zwijnenburg, MS (2012)
PAX (NGO), Netherlands


Independent Legal Advisor

Sarah Knuckey, BA,  LLB, LLM (2010)
Columbia University Law School, USA

Independent AWS Advisor

Heather Roff, PhD (2013)
University of Denver, USA